25+ beautiful gifts for book lovers

This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

With the holidays fast approaching, you know for sure it’s time to check off that gift list you’ve been slowly adding to all year. Or maybe you’ve completely ignored your gift list for the past 11 months. (No judgment – same thing.) Either way, thoughtful gift giving is a great way to show someone you care. If you have a book lover in your life, let me give you some ideas about gifts for book lovers.

While people often assume that readers just want books for Christmas, let’s dwell on that for a moment. Books as gifts are not the only way to go. There are actually several gift options beyond spines and pages. Think of the bibliophiles in your life: Some readers skillfully show off their love of reading by posting Bookstagram content. They can appreciate props with the right aesthetics. Others may want something more practical, such as delicious tea or a cozy blanket with a bookmark. Or maybe you need some advice on gifts for book lovers who want everyone who enters their home to immediately recognize their love for books.

Whatever your bookmark’s interests, let’s start tackling that gift list! Here are over 25 of the best gifts for book lovers.

Gifts for book lovers on the go

letters "TBR" written in blue.

Custom Subscription for Book Recommendations, $16+

Some days there just isn’t enough time to figure out which book to read next. Sound like the reader in your life? Gift them a subscription for fantastically personalized reading recommendations.

Rapids bottle with person drinking a hot drink and reading a book.

Water bottle, $27

If you’re buying something for someone who can never take a break, here’s a wonderful water bottle to keep them hydrated! (And to have them represent the book world at the same time!)

Kindle Cases in the Shape of Real Books on the Shelf

Kindle Case, $45

While physical books can be beautiful (and certainly an atmosphere), they can feel quite heavy when luged around all day. Dress a Kindle in a school cover for the best of both worlds.

Gift for book lover: Gray backpack with butterflies, crows and a skull embroidered with the text, "no mourners no funerals."

Backpack, $49

Make things in life easier to carry with an embroidered Six of Crows backpack!

Gifts for cozy readers

Black and white blanket with text from the book Frankenstein.

Blanket, $38

Wrapping yourself in a warm, fuzzy fleece blanket is step one to prepare for the most comfortable nights. Even better, grab a book to read and wrap yourself in a literary-themed blanket!

Stickers, bookmark and postcard with illustrated people reading

Postcard, bookmark and stickers, $10

Can you often find the bookmark in your life curled up on the couch, working his way through a pile of library books or writing long, well-crafted letters? Then count this bookmark set as one of the gifts to buy for them!

White sweatshirt with black and white library date stamps.

Sweatshirt, $24

Is it really a relaxing time when people don’t wear a soft sweater? This library stamp themed sweatshirt is both schooly and comfy, perfect for anyone looking to snuggle and read!

Four tins of multicolored loose leaf tea blends.

Bookish tea, $26

Literary themed teas are such classic and tasty gifts for book lovers! Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Stephanie Meyer will be delighted to taste these loose teas. Choose from a selection of literary character or location themed flavors.

Gifts for book lovers: blue fluffy socks with the words, "just one more chapter."

Socks, $10

A soft pair of socks is an undeniably important part of a cozy reader’s outfit.

Gifts for well-dressed readers

Five pairs of earrings decorated with multicolored books and plants.

Earrings, $14

Each of these colorful earrings is made from polymer clay and comes in a variety of styles. Whether it’s dangling earrings or studs, there’s bound to be something for you!

Silver and black cufflinks with dragons on them.

Cufflinks, $41

Have a Game of Thrones fan on your hands? Perhaps they would appreciate a unique pair of cufflinks as a reference to their favorite show.

Small yellow accessory bag with girl sitting and reading.

Accessory Pouch, $18

The right accessory can add so much to an outfit. Gift this beautiful, vibrant pencil case to the bookmarker in your life!

A white scrunchie is decorated with black text.

Scrunchie, $7

A scrunchie is a cute and inexpensive gift for book lovers who want to add a subtle literary touch to their outfit.

Navy blue tie with a white silhouette of a man smoking a pipe.

Sherlock Tie, $28

Dress to impress with a tie that is elemental, my dear Watson! This Sherlock Holmes themed tie is simple yet brimming with character.

Gifts for Bookstagrammers

Gift for book lover: White candle in glass jar with cork top

Bookish Candle, $6

If the reader in your life likes to use simple props to organize their books into a cozy scene, then there are never too many candles! Plus: This $6 hand-poured candle is scented with “antique books” and has a cute cork top.

Photo of pink, artificial silk peony blooms in a glass vase.

Artificial Flowers, $10

Depending on the season and geographic location (and many other factors), it is not always possible to have access to fresh flowers. Beautiful flowers, however, can make all the difference in photos! So why not buy colorful reusable artificial flowers?

Aged white wood panel held up by two hands.

Wooden Photography Backdrop, $25

If the reader you’re looking for doesn’t love their countertop, desk, or bedside space for photos, consider buying a highly compelling portable backdrop. Wallpapers are often made of wood, marble or other artificial materials.

Gifts for School Social Butterflies

A fork and two cloth napkins decorated with library date stamps.

Cloth Napkins, $34

If the person you’re shopping for absolutely loves entertaining people, here’s one of those book lover gifts you might find unmistakable: library-themed cloth napkins.

Blue board game box with illustrations of evil Pride and Prejudice characters.

Pride and Prejudice Card Game, $27

Jane Austen is an incredibly popular author. It should come as no surprise that there are witty games for those brave enough to enter the regency of England! The game “Marrying Mr. Darcy” requires an appreciation of satire as well as strategy. It will definitely brighten up any game night!

Rock glass with a typewriter printed on it, and orange bitters and aromatic bitters containers.

Cocktail Set, $35

Choose the literary rock glass you think the reader in your life will appreciate the most! The cocktail set also includes a stir stick and bitters.

White stone coasters decorated with six books drawn in black.

Coasters, $22

When the drinks start flowing at a party, sometimes the host can run out of coasters. Why not give them bookmarks to add to their stash (and add joy to their lives)?

Gifts for book lovers with a taste for design

Gift for book lover: two golden duck book ends on either side of a dark brown vintage book.

Bookends, $22

Stylish bookends can complete any room. These golden ducks can also make it possible to have more storage space for books on desks or bookshelves if there is no space on the shelves themselves!

Painting of Maya Angelou smiling

Maya Angelou Art Print, $10+

If the reader in your life is a huge fan of a particular author — and they have space on their walls — consider purchasing a beautiful print from that author. In my opinion, this Maya Angelou piece would look fantastic on display. (This particular piece comes in a variety of sizes.)

A planter with a tack of three white wooden books, with a plant emerging from the center.

Planter, $50

Are the succulents and spider plants taking over? No more pots? A bookmark might be just what you need as a gift!

Gifts for the littlest readers

White baby romper with the words "read to me" and an adult owl reading to two baby owls.

Romper $28

The love of reading can start early, so you might as well help the tiniest reader in your life dress the part!

Gift for book lover: fabric book made of felt and cotton, with sewn mushrooms and bugs.

Soft Book, $89

If the person you’re gifting happens to be too young to handle the delicate pages of a paper book, gift them a soft sensory book made of cotton and felt.

Teal baby socks with the text, "Author.  Title.  Expiration date.  1979. 1981."

Baby Socks, $12

Keep those little toes warm in bright library suit socks!


Looking for even more ideas for creative literary gifts for book lovers? Check out Etsy’s best Bookish stores for holiday gifts. Thinking about which cards should accompany gifts or be sent separately? We’ve got some recommendations for the best literary Christmas cards to send this season.

Leave a Comment