Bangladesh wins draw, chooses to strike first against Pakistan

Pakistan’s cricket team celebrates after rejecting a batsman. Photo: PCB

Pakistan will lock horns today (Friday) with Bangladesh in the first Test of the two-match series in Chittagong.

The Men in Green, fresh on an impressive T20 World Cup campaign, quickly settled their disappointing semi-final loss to Australia by recording an impressive 3-0 victory over hosts Bangladesh.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, have not managed to find their form even after a sad T20 World Cup campaign. Their batting was unable to withstand the Pakistani bowling attack and failed to give Pakistan’s tempo battery a hard time in each of the three-match T20 series.

As far as the head-to-head record is concerned, Pakistan has played three series in Bangladesh and won five of the six tests the two teams have played. Pakistan’s last victory came in Dhaka, in May 2015, when they hit Bangladesh by 328 runs.

Azhar Ali and Mushfiqur Rahim are the only players from both sides still playing

Azhar had scored 226 and 25, while Mushfiq scored 12 and zero as Azhar went off the match player, which will also be remembered for centuries by Younis Khan (148) and Asad Shafiq (107) as well as match figures of 36.3 -7- 128-7 by Yasir Shah, who will miss the series as he has yet to recover from a thumb injury he sustained during the National T20.

It will be a special debut for Abdullah Shafique, who will make his debut against Bangladesh in today’s match. The right-handed batsman, who has impressed in Pakistan’s domestic cricket so far, has been chosen by skipper Babar Azam to play in place of the more experienced left-handed batsman Imam-ul-Haq.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Bangladesh: Mominul Haque (Captain), Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Yasir Ali, Yasir Ali, Yasir Ali.


Leave a Comment