Dan Leavy returns to title XV for Leinster against Zebre

7 total views, 7 views today

The Leinster Rugby team, proudly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, to face Zebre Parma in Round 3 of the United Rugby Championship tomorrow at the RDS Arena has been announced by head coach Leo Cullen (KO 1pm, LIVE on RTÉ Sport , Premier Sport and URC TV).

Luke McGrath will be the team captain for the first time this season, and there are a number of changes to the XV that beat Dragons on the road last week.

There are three new ones back this weekend. Jimmy O’Brien makes his first appearance of the season as a winger, with Adam Byrne on the right wing and Jordan Larmour returning from a left injury.

Byrne has also come back from a series of major injuries and is his first outing with Leinster since December 2019 when he started against Munster.

It’s a new center combination this week too with Skerries man Ciarán Frawley in jersey number 12 and Naas RFC’s Jamie Osborne out of him.

McGrath is associated with Harry Byrne, who is returning from a minor foot injury to start his first game of the season.

Ed Byrne and Seán Cronin enter the squad this week, but it is the third straight outing for new signing Michael Ala’alatoa, who will experience the RDS Arena for the first time.

Devin Toner participates in Matchday 23 for the first time this season and starts in the second row alongside Ryan Baird.

In the back row, Dan Leavy begins his first game of the season, as does Scott Penny, with Rhys Ruddock retained from starting XV last week, but moving from the blind flank to No. 8 for tomorrow’s game.

On the bench, Rónan Kelleher is re-involved with Leinster for the first time this season after touring with the British and Irish Lions in South Africa over the summer.

Tickets for the game are still on sale HERE with gambling capacity limited to 75 percent of the total RDS Arena.

Covid-19 protocols will be implemented, in line with the latest government guidelines and the latest guidelines for the game are available. HERE.

The guidelines remain the same as those applied for the Vodacom Bulls game at Aviva Stadium two weeks ago under the 75 percent capacity guidelines.

Leinster Team v Zebra

15. Jimmy O’Brien (35 years old)
14. Adam Byrne (57 years old)
13. Jamie Osborne (7)
12. Ciarán Frawley (37)
11. Jordan Larmour (62 years old)
10. Harry Byrne (24)
9. Luke McGrath (152) CAPTAIN

1. Ed Byrne (72)
2. Seán Cronin (195)
3. Michael Ala’alatoa (2)
4. Devin Toner (266)
5. Ryan Baird (29 years old)
6. Dan Leavy (73 years old)
7. Scott Penny (29 years old)
8. Rhys Ruddock (190)


16. Rónan Kelleher (25)
17. Peter Dooley (93 years old)
18. Cyan Healy (233)
19. Ross Molony (118)
20. Max Deegan (67)
21. Nick McCarthy (37)
22. Johnny Sexton (174)
23. Rob Russell (1)

LiveScores now available at IrishScores.com

Leave a Comment