ECB announces list of 20-man core contracts for England men’s team under new system

The England and Wales Cricket Board announced on Friday core contracts for the men’s cricket team for the 2021/22 season. The ECB has awarded center retainers under a new system that does not differentiate between red ball and cue ball specialists.

The previous system, which was introduced in 2016 with the goal of winning the 2019 World Cup, assigned separate contracts to test and white ball specialists, in addition to players of all formats.

Under the new system, the English board has awarded 20 retainers annually on a “single” contract list.

Twenty annual contracts have been awarded in a new ‘unique’ contract list 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 🏏

The contract award panel has also awarded four increment and three pace bowling development contracts, which includes England Cricket CEO Ashley Giles and head coach + selector Chris Silverwood. The ECB said in an official statement:

“The new system has been developed in consultation with the players, Team England Player Partnership (TEPP) and the Professional Cricketers’ Association (PCA). It is designed to meet the future needs of England in what has become a fluid and dynamic. The system considers the probability that players will appear on England’s teams in all formats in the next 12 months and, at the same time, recognizes the previous year’s performances. “

The statement continued:

Considerations were also agreed against a busy international schedule, complicated by additional limitations related to COVID and taking into account the mental well-being and well-being of the players. In addition to the 20 Core Contracts, prizes have been awarded for Incremental Contracts and Pace Bowling Development Contracts. This structure recognizes players who may appear in England less predictably and supports the development and management of high-potential bowlers in all formats. “

The 12-month annual advances came into effect on October 1.

Ollie Robinson Wins First Center-Back Contract; Sibley gets lost

The Ben Stokes off-roader has been included on the contract list despite being unavailable for an indefinite period due to a finger injury and mental health issues.

Stellar pacemaker Jofra Archer is also on the 20-member roster. The Barbaros-born pacemaker has not appeared for England since March and will miss the upcoming T20 World Cup and the Ashes due to injury.

Meanwhile, discarded Test No. 3 Zak Crawley has managed to clinch a contract while starter Dom Sibley has been removed from the team.

The ECB has announced a new central contract system, with a list in place of separate white ball and red ball contracts.

Sibley, like Crawley, fell midway through the test series against India due to an extended shortage patch.

Ollie Robinson landed his inaugural contract after a debut season this summer. Meanwhile, Dom Bess, along with Tom Curran, Chris Jordan and Liam Livingstone, have been awarded incremental contracts.

The trio of Saqib Mahmood, Craig Overton and Olly Stone have won rhythm bowling development contracts.

Here is the list of England men’s central contracts for the 2021/22 season:

  • Joe Root
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Johnny bairstow
  • Jos Buttler
  • Ben stokes
  • Jofra archer
  • Ollie Robinson
  • Sam curran
  • Moeen ali
  • Jason roy
  • Adil rashid
  • Chris wake up
  • Mark Wood
  • Jack Leach
  • Zak Crawley
  • James anderson
  • Stuart broad
  • Ollie Pope
  • David malan
  • Rory Burns


Leave a Comment