Formula 1 qualifying results: starting grid for the 2021 Turkish Grand Prix

It’s a front row lock for Mercedes, with a catch.

Lewis Hamilton was fastest overall in qualifying on Saturday, but due to a change in power unit he will fall back to 11th place. His teammate Valtteri Bottas will start from pole at Saturday’s Turkish Grand Prix.

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Bottas will have his hands full with Max Verstappen starting next to him in the front row, as the Red Bull driver looks to approach and overtake the Mercedes driver on the track, and the other Mercedes driver on the drivers’ championship table.

Starting on Saturday, only two points separate Verstappen and Hamilton in the world championship race, with Hamilton holding the thin and thin margin over Verstappen. We could see another change in Turkey.

Here’s how they’ll line up this Sunday:

Formula 1 lineup for the 2021 Russian Grand Prix

Starting from the back of the grid will be Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz, who was given a penalty for a power unit change heading into the weekend.

Position Driver (team)
1. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
Four. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
5. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
6. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
7. Lando Norris (McLaren)
8 Ride Lance (Aston Martin)
9 Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
10. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
eleven. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
12. Esteban Ocon (Alpino)
13. George Russell (Williams)
14. Mick Schumacher (Haas)
fifteen. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
sixteen. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
17. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
18. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
19. Nikita Mazepin (Haas)
twenty. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

What channel is the F1 race on Sunday?

  • Race: Turkish Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday October 10
  • Television channel: ESPN2
  • Live broadcast: WatchESPN, fuboTV

The ESPN family of networks will broadcast all 2021 F1 races in the United States using the Sky Sports broadcast with some races heading to ABC later in the season.

Additionally, ESPN Deportes serves as the exclusive Spanish-language home for all 2021 F1 races in the US.

What time does the F1 race start on Sunday?

  • Date: Sunday October 10
  • Start time: 8 am ET

Sunday’s race start time at 8am ET means the 2021 Turkish GP will start at 3pm local time. The start time in hours means that the lights will likely go out just after 8am ET. ESPN’s pre-race show generally airs one hour before the start of the race.

Below is the full TV schedule for the weekend’s F1 events at the Turkish GP.

Date Event Time (ET) television channel
Friday October 8 Practice 1 4:30 am ESPN2
Friday October 8 Practice 2 8 am ESPN2
Saturday October 9 Practice 3 5 am ESPN2
Saturday October 9 Qualification 8 am ESPN2
Sunday October 10 Race 8 am ESPN2

Live broadcast of Formula 1 for the Russian Grand Prix

For those who don’t have a cable or satellite subscription, there are four main OTT TV streaming options that broadcast ESPN: fuboTV, Sling, Hulu, YouTubeTV, and AT&T Now. Of the four, Hulu and YouTubeTV offer free trial options.

Below are the links to each.

For those who have a cable or satellite subscription but are not in front of a TV, Formula 1 races in 2021 can be streamed live via phones, tablets and other devices on the ESPN app with authentication.

Formula 1 Calendar 2021

Formula 1 returns in 2021 with a zaftig schedule of 23 races, starting with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28 and concluding with the usual Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on December 12.

The Canadian GP was canned as the country continues to grapple with coronavirus issues, with F1 adding the Styrian GP instead. The French GP advances a week until June 20.

The race originally scheduled for October 3 in Singapore was also canceled and the Turkish GP rejoined the calendar for the same date. That race takes place on the Istanbul city circuit.

The Portuguese Grand Prix returns for the second time in a row after an absence of 22 years. Also making its debut this year is the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, scheduled for December.

Date Race Course Start time (ET) television channel Winner
28th March Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 11 a. M. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
April 18th Grand Prix of Emilia Romagna Enzo and Dino Ferrari International Circuit 9 a. M. TBD Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
May 2nd Grand Prix of Portugal Algarve International Circuit 10 a. M. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
May 9 Spanish Grand Prix Barcelona-Catalonia Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
may 23 Monaco Grand Prix Monaco Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 6th Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku city circuit 8 am ESPN Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
June 20th French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard 9 a. M. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 27th Styrian Grand Prix Red bull ring 9 a. M. ESPN Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 4th Austrian Grand Prix Red bull ring 9 a. M. ESPN Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 18 Great Britain Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit 10 a. M. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
August 1 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring 9 a. M. ESPN Esteban Ocon (Alpino)
August 29 Belgian Grand Prix Circuit of Spa-Francorchamps 9 a. M. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
September 5 Dutch Grand Prix Zandvoort Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
September 12 Italian Grand Prix Monza National Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN2 Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
September 26 Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrome 8 am ESPN2 TBD
October 10th Turkish Grand Prix Istanbul City Circuit 8 am ESPN2 TBD
October 24th United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas 3 pm ABC TBD
31 October Grand Prix of Mexico City Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez 3 pm ABC TBD
November 7 Brazilian Grand Prix Autodromo José Carlos Pace Noon ESPN2 TBD
November 21 Australian Grand Prix Albert Park Circuit 1 a. M. ESPN News TBD
December 5th Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Jeddah Street Circuit 11 p. M. ESPN2 TBD
December 12th Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit 8 am ESPN2 TBD

Leave a Comment