LPL 2021: Lanka Premier League 2021 to be played from December 4 to 23; player registration begins

Follow us

The second edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL 2021) will be played from December 4 to 23 and will be played with the participation of five teams, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Thursday (September 23).

SLC also announced the foreign player registration process, which will start from Friday (September 24) and October 5 will be the last date.

The latest announcement confirms TheSportsNews, in a previous report, that it indicated the start of the league on December 3 and the final on December 23.

The tournament was originally scheduled to run from July 30 to August 22 and was later rescheduled from November 9 to December 12 due to the unavailability of foreign players. Now the tournament is. December completely changed due to the T20 2021 World Cup scheduled until November 15.

Eligibility for the 2021 LPL Foreign Players Draft

Foreign players entering the LPL Player Draft should have represented their respective national team, or played first-class cricket, or should have participated in major cricket based on the T20 franchise in full membership tournaments.

LPL 2021 team composition

The starting squad of the LPL 2021 team must consist of 20 players, and the team must have 14 local players and 6 foreign players. A team can only retain 4 players (2 locals and 2 foreigners) from the previous year’s team (LPL 2020), while the rest will have to be chosen from the next ‘Player Draft’.

Leave a Comment