Metallica Plays Career Spanning Set at First 40th Anniversary Show at San Francisco’s Chase Center (Video)

METALLICA Plays Career Spanning Set At First 40th Anniversary Show At San Francisco's Chase Center (Video)

METALLIC played the first of two 40th anniversary shows last night (Friday, December 17) at the Chase Center in San Francisco, California.

While personal tickets were available exclusively to members of the group’s Fifth Member fan club, METALLIC fans around the world could watch the performance live from home or on mobile via Amazon music, Amazon music‘s twitch channel, and Prime Video (with or without Prime subscription for on-demand viewing). The show – together with tomorrow night’s performance (Sunday, December 19) at the same location – will then be made available exclusively on The Coda Collection/Prime Video channel to watch later.

A week ago, there were limited tickets to Friday night’s show between $757 and $1,457 through Ticketmaster, while tickets to Sunday’s concert cost at least $582, with several more expensive tiers.

The set list for the December 17 concert was as follows:

01. The ecstasy of gold (preface)

02. touch the lights

03. Creeping death

04. Caught under ice

05. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)

06. Orion

07. The shortest straw

08. A

09. Sad but true

10. Nothing else matters

11. king nothing

12. Fixxxer (live debut)

13. bread fan

14. No four-leaf clover

15. panic

16. The day that never comes

17. Spit out the bone

“We’re thankful you’ve been with us for 40 years, and we’re so glad you’re still here after all this time,” says the frontman. James Hetfield told the audience at one point during the set. “It still amazes me. Because we were made to do this. I know the.”

He also confirmed, after showing a montage featuring some of METALLIC‘s former members, that they would not make guest appearances on the show. “Hope you saw it” [the former METALLICA members] live at some point in your life,” he said. “We were blessed to have them in the band.”

See the 40th anniversary shows METALLIC return to Chase Center for the first time since September 2019 “S&M²” concerts that also served as the venue’s grand opening. It was impossible not to notice that fans from more than 60 countries traveled to the City by the Bay and completely took over San Francisco for “S&M²” weekend. That outpouring of positive vibes from around the world inspired METALLIC to invite those fifth members back—and this time, in addition to the two shows at Chase Center, METALLIC hosts other live music and comedy events, Blackened Whiskey tastings and much more across the city during the long four-day party weekend beginning Thursday, December 16.

Formed in 1981 by Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich, METALLIC have become one of the most influential and successful rock bands in history, selling nearly 120 million albums worldwide and generating over 2.5 billion streams while playing to millions of fans on literally all seven continents. The band’s several multi-platinum albums include: “Kill Them All”, “Ride the Lightning”, “Puppeteer”, “… And justice for all”, “Metallic” (commonly referred to as The Black Album), “Load”, “Reload”, “St. Rage”, “Death Magnetic” and “Hardwired…to Destroy Himself”, released in November 2016 and charted at number 1 in 32 countries.

METALLIC‘s awards and honors include nine Grammy Awards, two American Music Awards, multiple MTV Video Music Awards, and its introduction in 2009 in the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame. In June 2018, the band received one of the most prestigious musical awards in the world: the Swedish Polar Music Prize.

To comment on a
story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you are logged in, you can comment. User comments or messages do not reflect the position of
does not endorse or guarantee the accuracy of any user comments. To report spam or abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments or anything else that violates applicable law, use the “Report to Facebook” and “Mark as Spam” links that appear next to the comments themselves. to show up. To do this, click the downward arrow in the top right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also email blabbermouthinbox(@) with relevant details.
reserves the right to “hide” comments that may be deemed offensive, illegal, or inappropriate and to “ban” users who violate the site’s Terms of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user’s Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a “banned” user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the “banned” user’s comments are only visible to the user and the Facebook friends of the user). user).

Give a Comment