NASCAR at Talladega live racing updates, results, YellaWood 500 highlights postponed

The most chaotic race of the NASCAR season is about to get crazier.

Forty cars will line up for the YellaWood 500 race on Monday at 1 p.m. ET after the initial start time was postponed due to rain. The NASCAR Cup Series will host the 12-race second round at the Talladega Superspeedway in Lincoln, Alabama.

Denny Hamlin is Talladega’s defending champion, stealing the win in 2020 by 0.023 seconds. Following a win at Las Vegas Motor Speedway last week, Hamlin has already secured his position in the next round. Hamlin and Kyle Busch are expected to lead to the green flag, followed by Chase Elliott and Ryan Blaney.

The Penske team has won five of the last seven playoff races at Talladega, and Ford has nine drivers with previous victories. Eighth-place driver Brad Keselowski leads the manufacturer with six wins, including the 2021 spring event. Seventh-place driver Joey Logano has three wins for Ford; Blaney has two and Kevin Harvick has one.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and highlights from the YellaWood 500 on Sunday. Follow for the full results of the 2021 NASCAR Playoff Cup Series.

MORE: Watch NASCAR at Talladega Live on fuboTV (7-Day Free Trial)

NASCAR at Talladega Live Updates, YellaWood 500 Highlights

Live updates will begin at 1pm ET.

All the time of the East.

1:55: Justin Allgier spins against the wall and crashes into Kyle Larson’s door. The damage could be greater, but both cars are likely to hit the pits up to their asses.

1:53: Chase Elliott leads the pressure from the outside line. Denny Hamlin falls to the end of the pack as the push intensifies at the front.

1:50: Team Ford takes a strong lead with Keselowski, Buescher, Logano and Harvick single file in front.

1:45: Keselowski and Buescher lead the pack to round the last pair of cars with 13 laps remaining on stage one.

1:38: Brad Keselowski and Chris Buescher take the lead for Team Ford when forced into the middle. Joey Logano follows the duo as they are pushed outside.

1:34: Denny Hamlin moves up to seventh on the inside line. Kevin Harvick remains in front followed by Ryan Blaney on lap 36.

1:28: Harvick is the first out of the pits. Chase Elliott swerves to avoid a collision with Cody Ware.

1:26: Chase Elliott slid completely in front of his box on pit road.

1:25: Custer is first on pit road followed by Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott and Brad Keselowski.

1:22: The inside line is established with Custer leading the way, the competition caution flag is flown on lap 26.

1:20: Cole Custer takes the lead from Harvick before the competition yellow flag. The line in the third lane finally begins to descend backwards.

1:15: Matt DiBenedetto briefly took the lead, but Kyle Larson takes the lead after the first 16 laps of the first stage.

1:12: Kevin Harvick takes the lead on lap six when Joey Logano pushes him from the right. The cars are all packed into three lanes.

1:10: It didn’t take long for Kyle Busch to take the lead ahead of Chase Elliott. Denny Hamlin falls back.

1:05: The second round of 12 races is underway.

12:53: Drivers report to their cars and start their engines.

12:30: Cars are being pushed onto the grid before the 1:05 pm green flag.

NASCAR start time today

  • Time (ET): 1 p. M.
  • Television channel: NBCSN
  • Live broadcast:, NBC Sports App, fuboTV

The green flag for Monday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Talladega is scheduled to fall at 1 p.m. ET after the race was postponed Sunday due to rain.

How to watch NASCAR in Talladega

  • Television channel: NBCSN (TSN3 in Canada)
  • Live broadcast: | NBC Sports App | fuboTV (7-day free trial)
  • Radio: MRN

NBCSN programming will begin at noon ET with the network’s “Countdown to Green” pre-race show hosted by Marty Snider with analysts Brad Daugherty and Kyle Petty. Coverage of the race will begin at 1 pm ET on Monday.

Rick Allen will handle play-by-game duties throughout the race, while Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Burton and Steve Letarte will provide analysis. Snider, Kelli Stavast, Dave Burns and Parker Kligerman are the pits reporters this weekend. Rutledge Wood will be a “specialist reporter,” in the words of NBC.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Kyle Larson leads the playoff standings as the 12-run second round begins. At the other extreme are the drivers below the cutoff line: William Byron, Kevin Harvick, Alex Bowman and Christopher Bell. Byron is just four points behind driver Brad Keselowski’s eighth place.

A playoff driver who wins a race in the round of 12 automatically advances to the next round.

Pos. Driver Points
1 Kyle larson 3096
2 Denny Hamlin 3082
3 Kyle busch 3074
4 Martin Truex Jr. 3070
5 Ryan blaney 3063
6 Chase elliott 3061
7 Joey logano 3045
8 Brad Keselowski 3043
9 William Byron 3039
10 Kevin Harvick 3036
eleven Alex Bowman 3030
12 Christopher bell 3018

NASCAR starting lineup at Talladega Speedway

Here’s the full NASCAR lineup for Monday’s playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway, the YellaWood 500.

Pos. Start Driver Car No. Team
1 P-Denny Hamlin eleven Joe Gibbs Racing
2 P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
4 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Penske Ford
5 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Penske Ford
8 P-Joey Logano 22 Penske Ford
9 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
eleven P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Christopher Bell twenty Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
fifteen Matt DiBenedetto twenty-one Wood Brothers Racing
sixteen Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Chase briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse racing
19 Bubba wallace 2. 3 23XI Races
twenty Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
twenty-one Rickey Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
22 Michael McDowell 3. 4 Front row motorsports
2. 3 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
24 Chris buescher 17 Roush Fenway racing
25 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway racing
26 Erik jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
27 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
28 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
29 Corey lajoie 7 Spire Motorsports
30 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front row motorsports
31 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
32 BJ McLeod 78 Live fast motor sports
33 Justin allgaier 77 Spire Motorsports
3. 4 Josh bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
35 what houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Joey gas 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Garrett smithley fifteen Rick Ware Racing
38 Justin haley sixteen Kaulig Racing
39 David starr 66 Business Management of Motorsports
40 Landon cassill 96 Gaunt Brothers careers

Leave a Comment