NHL All-Star Game lists revealed, with some big names omitted in 3-on-3 format

The NHL has revealed its lists for the 2022 All-Star Game in Las Vegas, where some key names are missing from the teams.

The All-Star Game will once again feature four division teams – Metropolitan, Atlantic, Central and Pacific – playing in a 3-on-3 tournament. It is the first All-Star game since the 2019-20 season, as last season’s release did not take place due to the pandemic shortened season.

The All-Star Game takes place on February 5 (15.00 ET on ABC and simulcast on ESPN +), with the skill contest taking place the day before February 4 (19.30 ET on ESPN) from the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Each team consists of 11 players. The first 10 players for each team include a team captain that the fans have voted for and nine players selected by the NHL Hockey Operations. The remaining player for each division team will also be voted on by fans as “Last Man In,” with the NHL selecting a candidate from each team. The vote on “Last Man In” runs until 23:59 ET on Monday.

Here are the 2022 NHL All-Star lists:

Metropolitan Division

Extensions: Sebastian Aho, Carolina Hurricanes; Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers; Jack Hughes, New Jersey Devils; Chris Kreider, New York Rangers; Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Defenders: Adam Fox, New York Rangers; Adam Pelech, New York Islanders; Zach Werenski, Columbus blue jackets

Goalkeepers: Frederik Andersen, Carolina Hurricanes; Tristan Jarry, Pittsburgh Penguins

“Last Man In” ballot paper: Cam Atkinson, Philadelphia Flyers; Mathew Barzal, New York Islanders; Jesper Bratt, New Jersey Devils; Jake Guentzel, Pittsburgh Penguins; Evgeny Kuznetsov, Washington Capitals; Andrei Svechnikov, Carolina Hurricanes; Jakub Voracek, Columbus blue jackets; Mika Zibanejad, New York Rangers

Atlantic Division

Extensions: Drake Batherson, Ottawa Senators; Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers; Dylan Larkin, Detroit Red Wings; Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs; Nick Suzuki, Montreal Canadiens

Defenders: Rasmus Dahlin, Buffalo Sabers; Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

Goalkeepers: Jack Campbell, Toronto Maple Leafs; Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning

“Last Man In” ballot paper: Alexander Barkov, Florida Panthers; Charlie McAvoy, Boston Bruins; Lucas Raymond, Detroit Red Wings; Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning; John Tavares, Toronto Maple Leafs; Tage Thompson, Buffalo Sabers; Brady Tkachuk, Ottawa Senators; Tyler Toffoli, Montreal Canadiens

Central Division

Extensions: Alex DeBrincat, Chicago Blackhawks; Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets; Kirill Kaprizov, Minnesota Wild; Clayton Keller, Arizona Coyotes; Jordan Kyrou, St. Louis Blues; Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche; Joe Pavelski, Dallas Stars

Defenders: Cala Makar, Colorado avalanche

Goalkeepers: Juuse Saros, Nashville Predators; Cam Talbot, Minnesota Wild

“Last Man In” ballot paper: Ryan Hartman, Minnesota Wild; Seth Jones, Chicago Blackhawks; Roman Josi, Nashville Predators; Nazem Kadri, Colorado Avalanche; Phil Kessel, Arizona Coyotes; Jason Robertson, Dallas Stars; Mark Scheifele, Winnipeg Jets; Robert Thomas, St. Louis Blues

Pacific Division

Extensions: Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers; Jordan Eberle, Seattle Kraken; Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary Flames; Adrian Kempe, Los Angeles Kings; Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers; Timo Meier, San Jose Sharks; Mark Stone, Vegas Golden Knights

Defenders: Alex Pietrangelo, Vegas Golden Knights

Goalkeepers: Thatcher Demko, Vancouver Canucks; John Gibson, Anaheim Ducks

“Last Man In” ballot paper: Logan Couture, San Jose Sharks; Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings; Mark Giordano, Seattle Kraken; Jonathan Marchessault, Vegas Golden Knights; JT Miller, Vancouver Canucks; Darnell Nurse, Edmonton Oilers; Troy Terry, Anaheim Ducks; Matthew Tkachuk, Calgary Flames

Carolina’s Rod Brind’Amour, Florida’s Andrew Brunette, Colorado’s Jared Bednar and Vegas’ Peter DeBoer will coach their respective divisions in the All-Star Game.

The 3-to-3 format means it is not a traditional meritocratic All-Star selection process. Significant names missing from the All-Star list include Penguins star Sidney Crosby, Rangers winger Artemi Panarin and goalkeeper Igor Shesterkin, Brown’s leading scorer Brad Marchand, Panthers defender Aaron Ekblad, Maple Leafs striker William Nylander and defender Morgan Rielly, Predators striker Matt. Duchene, Blues winger Vladimir Tarasenko and King’s leading goal scorer Anze Kopitar.

The NHL season resumes after the All-Star Weekend, as the league opted out of allowing its players to attend the Beijing Olympics due to the interruption of its regular season program of COVID-19. The NHL has postponed close to 130 games due to outbursts on teams and Canada’s restrictions on arena capacity.

Despite the unique challenges of the schedule, NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly told ESPN that a player named to the All-Star Game list but not attending the event must miss either a match before or after the All-Star the break, which has been league politics for several seasons.


Give a Comment