PCB rewards cash prize to national players and support staff during a ceremony in Lahore

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) honored national players and support staff with a huge cash prize.

On Friday, PCB hosted a ceremony called ‘PCB Honors Its Heroes and Stars’ at the distant building of Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Pakistani players received a cash prize of PKR15,000.00- Reports

PCB chairman Ramiz Raja (right) along with Pakistan national team captain Babar Azam. Credits: Pakistan Cricket / Twitter

According to a report from Cricket Pakistan, the players received a cash prize of 15,000.00 PKR, while the support staff was awarded between 2,000.00 PKR and 10,000.00 PKR. All the rewards were handed over by PCB President Ramiz Raja.

“Appreciation along with accolades are important to boost the player’s motivation. Take a look at the highlights of the ceremony where players were presented with awards for their first-class performance in 2021 by President PCB,” Pakistan Cricket tweeted from its official handle.

The Babar-Azam-led Pakistani team played nine Tests, six ODIs and 29 T20I matches in the 2021 calendar year.

Pakistan topped the charts in Group 2 of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 as they won all their matches in the group stage. Pakistan beat arch-rivals India by 10 wickets in their opening match in Dubai.

It was the first case that a Pakistani team won over their neighbors in a World Cup match. Prior to that victory, Pakistan had lost to India 12 times in both ODI and T20 World Cup matches.

Pakistan, however, failed to lift the World T20 title despite their huge run-through in the tournament as they were eliminated by the final champions Australia in the second round of the semi-finals.

Mohammad Rizwan named the most valuable cricketer of the year 2021

Pakistani wicketkeeper debater Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 1915 runs across all formats, most of any batter in 2021, won this year’s most valuable cricketer at the 2021 PCB Awards.

PCB chairman Ramiz Raja (right) with Pakistani player Mohammad Rizwan. Credits: Pakistan Cricket / Twitter

Rizwan was also unanimously selected by an independent panel as the T20I Cricketer of the Year by PCB.

Skipper Babar won this year’s ODI Cricketer, while Hasan Ali won Test Cricketer of the Year to get 41 wickets from eight tests.

Mohammad Wasim Jr. was named Emerging Cricketer of the Year for his 45 wickets in 2021, including 15 wickets in his debut year in international cricket.

also read: PCB set to appoint foreign coach as Saqlain Mushtaq resigns as Pakistan’s interim head coach

Give a Comment