The 10 Best Books To Read If You Love The Series

While The diary of vampires franchise still survives on television with its spin-off, legacies, the books tend to scratch a different kind of itch. While the LJ Smith book series and TV series undoubtedly have many differences, in the end they share the same story of love, betrayal, blood and of course vampires.

RELATED: 10 Differences Between Elena In The Vampire Diaries Books & The Show

There are many options these days when it comes to vampiric fiction, but not all of them can satisfy the craving for the sweetness of teenage romance and the melodrama of fighting species in the same way that TVD is doing. That said, there are a few novels worth mentioning that will help TVD lovers get their solution.


10 Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead

Two side-by-side images of Vampire Academy books

Vampire Academy, written by Richelle Mead, has a very different vampire knowledge than TVD, but the romance and plot twists in this series will easily leave any fan feeling immersed in its supernatural fact or fiction.

RELATED: Vampire Academy’s 10 Missed Opportunities From The Books

Even though the film adaptation of Vampire Academy didn’t do the best when it hit theaters in 2014, the series as a whole is action-packed and the romance between Rose and her trainer, Dimitri, is incredibly steamy. The best thing about this series is that it does a great job of building a world and has a very prophetic element that adds to the stakes of the story.

9 The Mortal Instruments Series – Cassandra Clare

The Mortal InstrumentsWritten by Cassandra Clare, it introduces a world of magical creatures protected by half-human half-angel hybrids called Shadowhunters, who use runes to endow themselves with certain alien abilities.

This six-book series follows Clary Fairchild as she realizes she is the daughter of Valentine, an evil Shadowhunter who wants to steal the mortal cup to create an army of Nephilim that will destroy the entire Shadow World. While not strictly about vampires, vampire politics is extremely relevant to the series as a whole and this story contains tons of forbidden love for readers to enjoy. Not to mention that this series has both a movie and TV adaptation.

SCREENRANT VIDEO OF THE DAY

8 Fallen – Lauren Kate

Collage of Fallen Novels by Lauren Kate

casesAlthough it’s not about vampires at all, it has a controversial love triangle reminiscent of Elena, Damon, and Stephan and a main character with a mysterious past that even she doesn’t remember.

This story follows Lucinda Price, a girl who is sent to boarding school by her parents and falls instantly in love with Daniel Grigori, who tries to avoid her at all costs. The amount of mystery in this story makes for a good read and the ending is super satisfying as it answers so many questions about the main characters and their immortal curse as fallen angels.

7 Interview with the Vampire – Anne Rice

Anne Rice’s Classic Novel interview with the vampire, and the subsequent film, embrace what it means to be a vampire, while showing how lonely and unchanging everything feels like an immortal.

While this series isn’t about teenage love or arguing sorts, it explores the reality of what it’s like to live forever but as an outcast. Rice’s prose is beautifully dark, making this the perfect read for someone who wants to empathize with an authentic-feeling vampire and immerse themselves in another time.

6 Highlighted – PC & Kristin Cast

Two side by side images from the Marked book series

marked, by PC and Kirstin Cast, is a story about Zoey Redbird, who must leave her normal life behind to learn how to survive her transition from young vampire to adult vampire.

This series is essentially a coming-of-age story about a girl trying to find her place in the world, albeit a strange world full of blood-sucking creatures with powers. This story has tons of conflict and moments of high drama, resembling some of the moments in TVD, As a whole.

5 Secret Circle – LJ Smith

Secret Circle Book Series

The secret circle, also written by LJ Smith, is about a New Salem witch coven and the consequences of using magic.

RELATED: The 5 Best (& 5 Worst) Parts of The Secret Circle’s Show

This story, which was also adapted as a single-season TV show, follows Cassie Blake as she discovers she is a witch and discovers that magic attracts dark forces. This series is the optimal reading experience for Bonnie aficionados who just want to see more witch-related drama that isn’t as dark as something like The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

4 Evernight – Claudia Gray

Two images side by side from the Evernight book series

every night, written by Claudia Gray, is about a gothic-looking boarding school with mysterious college bodies who are all thin, pale and tall.

This four-book series follows Bianca, a new student, who meets Lucas, another outcast. Overall, these books contain tons of romance and they are perfect for someone who wants to read about a couple who are meant for each other, even if life makes it difficult for them to really be together.

3 The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – Holly Black

The coldest girl in Cold Town front and back

The coldest girl in ColdtownWritten by Holly Black, is a novel set in a fascinating apocalyptic world that focuses more on the protagonist’s drive than the actual vampires in the story.

The book follows Tana, who goes to a party one night and wakes up in a Coldtown, a place where monsters and humans live inharmoniously. Tana is a cool female protagonist who can fend for herself as she fights to survive and find out what happened to her. She is fun to care for and the book is an original take on a vampire story.

2 Southern Vampire Mysteries – Charlaine Harris

The spines of the Southern Vampire Mysteries book series

The Southern Vampire Mysteries, written by Charlaine Harris, are about a world where everyone knows that vampires exist, while shape-shifters, werewolves, fairies and many other species remain hidden.

More commonly called The Sookie Stackhouse Novels, these books follow Sookie Stackhouse, a mind reader who falls in love with the first vampire she meets, Bill Compton, who is very different from the books. This 13 book series is the same as on where blood is based, making it an ideal read for anyone looking for something a little less PG-13.

1 Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone book series

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor, is the perfect book for someone who is more into dark magic and witches The diary of vampires.

This trilogy follows Karou, an art student living in Prague living with magical animal hybrids called Chimera, who wage a war against angels in another realm. These books contain forbidden love and warring species and they are original with their world construction and use of magic.

UP NEXT: 10 Major Differences In The Vampire Diaries Between The Books And The TV Show

Split image of Batgirl-inspired player, Flashpoint DLC, and a player firing weapons in the DCUO feature


Next one
DCUO: 10 updates that resulted in one of the best superhero games of all time


Leave a Comment