The Saints honor Drew Brees at the break of the Thanksgiving match vs. Bills

NEW ORLEANS – Retired Saints quarterback Drew Brees finally got a rejection from a packed and loud Superdome.

When Brees called Thursday night’s match between New Orleans and Buffalo as part of the NBC broadcast team, the franchise chose to honor Brees on the field at the break.

With the Southern University band spelling “Brees # 9” on the field, a montage of memorable moments from Bree’s career played on Superdome video boards before Saints owner Gayle Benson introduced Brees. , “Dreeew!”

“We have experienced so many incredible moments in this field and in this city,” Brees said. “Thank you so much for loving us, thank you for embracing me and my family. We will always love you and we will always work to make you proud.”

Brees then raised his fist as he urged the audience to lower the traditional song of “Who dat, who dat, who dat says they will beat them holy!”

“The biggest fans in the world, let’s blow the top of this dome and make the world feel it and hear it,” Brees said as he brought his arm down and began the song.

The crowd then cheered as Brees walked off the field to return to work.

Brees, who played 20 NFL seasons and his last 15 in New Orleans, played his final season mostly by a sparse crowd as the NFL operated under COVID-19 protocols that significantly limited the size of stadiums.

He retired last free season as the NFL’s all-time leader in yards passing with 80,358, but has since been overshadowed this season by Tampa Bay’s Tom Brady.

Brees’ 571 career touchdown passes in second place after Brady’s 610.

Brees, who began his career with the then San Diego Chargers in 2001, came to New Orleans at a time when the city was still enduring extensive devastation caused by Hurricane Katrina in August 2005. In its first season, the Saints – which’d went 3- 13 in 2005 – Improved to 10-6 and advanced to the franchise’s first NFC title game.

It was the first of nine seasons in which Brees led the Saints to the playoffs, where the team won a Super Bowl and advanced three times to the NFC Championship.

Leave a Comment