WNBA: Connecticut Sun’s Curt Miller is 2021’s Coach of the Year

Curt Miller is the 2021 Coach of the Year, the WNBA announced on Tuesday. Miller leads the #1 seeded Connecticut Sun, who will begin their playoff run at 8 p.m. Tuesday night when they host the Chicago Sky in Game 1 of the semifinals.

It was an eventful day of awards for the sun, with star strikers Jonquel Jones and Brionna Jones winning MVP and MIP respectively. Additionally, J. Jones and Sun guard Briann January were voted to this year’s All-Defensive First Team, while B. Jones and Sun guard Jasmine Thomas made the All-Defensive Second Team. Had Alyssa Thomas been healthy all season, The Sun might have had five players receiving defensive honors, enough to fill a starting lineup. Obviously the players deserve a lot of credit for Connecticut’s success, but Miller took center stage and led them to success without A. Thomas.

The Sun went 26-6, 3-0 in the regular season against preseason favorite Las Vegas Aces, who finished second at 24-8.

Leave a Comment